This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more or click on the Cookies link at the bottom of the page at any time
  • Start a brand new topic
    • Start a brand new topic
  • Search all forums
    Search
    • Search all forums
  • Register for free
    Register
    • Register for free
  • Forum help and frequently asked questions
    Help
    • Forum help and frequently asked questions
Dosing warfarin
bong

9 Posts

Posted:  20-Nov-2012 12:37
I'm brand new to practice nursing and have been asked to do INR clinics. i've been on a course and spent time with registered practitioner and have yet to do an exam, however my querie is, am i legally allowed to do this? Is it not prescribing?
Please help, i'm sure you can understand my worries
scotty1

77 Posts

Posted:  21-Nov-2012 08:13
I would think it is prescribing. I also do DVt clinics and get INR reading etc but the GP comes in to dose. In hospital DVT clinics however I know the nurses used electronic dosing so they are not actually prescribing? hope this helps

scotty :)
agapanthus

33 Posts

Posted:  21-Nov-2012 15:13
I wuold urge you to contact the RCN if you are every worried about legal issues like this one. However useful it is to find out what everyone else is doing , it is your registration at stake. good luck.
simonbrowes

2 Posts

Posted:  21-Nov-2012 17:05
You could dose within an PGD as long as parameters are clearly set. I work with non-prescribing nurses who dose and supply/administer anticoagulation in this manner. Seek advice from anticoag service and local medicines management advisor.
calnerunner13

32 Posts

Posted:  22-Nov-2012 15:52
Hi ,